RSS Feed

Beating the Heat

Posted on

Does not Beat IC!  This weekend was so hot!  Thursday was upper 80s, Friday was upper 90s, and Saturday got up to 100!  OUCH!  Too hot for lil old me!  I went to the neurologist on Friday and we discussed how I should stay really hydrated in the heat because of all the medications I am on and the fact that with topamax the body can lose its temperature regulation causing one to overheat.  I don’t do well in the heat anyways then add these medications that dry me out and cause me to over heat, not a good combination!

Friday we took the girls to the movies to see Zoo Keeper.  My review of this movie is to run, don’t walk very far far away from this movie!  It wasn’t very good at all and the girls were obviously very bored with it taking 3 potty breaks during it!  Anyways, that day wasn’t so bad.

Saturday we checked out Boarders to see what they had on sale for kids books, they were about the only books not on super sale!  Then we had lunch and went to the lake to swim in the warm water.  I think in all I drank about 3 liters of water not thinking about it.  I was just drinking all day cuz I was so hot, well I surely paid for it!  I had to pee 3 times in the 2 hours at the lake.  Then the frequency continued at home, then out at dinner (who wants to cook when its 100 outside?).  I also had horrible bladder pain which I haven’t had in so long.

In the past week or so I have also developed an interesting new problem.  I eat then have to go find a bathroom!  I am so not used to this!  Its horrible, I feel like a guy!  At acupuncture last week she did points that were for both constipation and diarrhea which the body does what it needs to with them.  Well it continued, so today she did point for splenic qi to see if that would help solve this problem.  I’m afraid to eat anything!  I’m starting to wonder if its related to wheat or gluten so I had quinoa for dinner with cucumber and fennel for dinner.  Guess its time to journal food for a while again until I figure this out

About Amanda

I'm 32 and I'm working on beating Interstitial Cystitis. I may have the disease, but the disease does not have me! I have the best team of people treating me and keeping me positive. Yes I may have had to change what I eat, but I feel healthier because I am eating more whole foods and less processed crap. There are ways to heal my body that include acupuncture, yoga and stretching, nutrition, physical therapy, and meditation. Family support is the most important factor in my kicking IC ass, because without them, it would be impossible!

Leave a Reply

